WILL SMITH WANTS TO PLAY OBAMA

January 17, 2009

Will Smith wants to play Barack Obama in a film.

The 40-year-old actor admits he would be unable to say no if the US President-Elect asked him to take on the role.

He said: “If I’m ordered by my Commander-In-Chief to star in the film, then I’ll do my duty as an American.”

Although Will is a staunch supporter of Obama, he insists he has no plans to follow in the footsteps of Ronald Reagan and Arnold Schwarzengger and move from acting to politics.

He said: “It’s a whole lot more fun to be a movie star. The President is a difficult job with a whole lot of lives on the line with every decision you make.”

“In my job I can just bring joy. I don’t have to bring bad news so I think I’ll stay in my position for quite a long time.”

In addition to portraying Obama, the actor recently revealed he would like to play former South African President Nelson Mandela and soul singer Marvin Gaye in a movie about their lives, but fears he isn’t “man enough” for the roles.

He said: “I’m not certain I’m actor enough yet. I love both of those, and I need to make sure I’m man enough.”

Leave a Reply

